

M-NCPPC RESOLUTION No. 24-22

November 20, 2024

MERIT SYSTEM BOARD REAPPOINTMENT – CAROLYN SCRIBER

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland ("Land Use Article") and the Merit System Rules and Regulations, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (the "Commission") shall have the authority, obligation and responsibility to appoint a Merit System Board to oversee the Merit System;

WHEREAS, on July 28, 2019, the Commission appointed Ms. Carolyn Scriber, Member of the Merit System Board to fulfill the term of the vacancy of Steven Cohen's position;

WHEREAS, on July 21, 2021, the Commission approved the re-appointment of Ms. Carolyn Scriber, Member of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2021 through December 1, 2024;

WHEREAS, Ms. Scriber has discharged the duties as Member of the Merit System Board faithfully, and continues to meet the requirements in Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article for membership on the Merit System Board, including substantial knowledge and experience in personnel matters; and,

WHEREAS, Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article allows for the reappointment of Merit System Board Members, at the pleasure of the Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Commission hereby reappoints Ms. Carolyn Scriber, Member of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2024 through December 1, 2028; and,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Ms. Scriber's appointment to the Merit System Board shall be pursuant to the same terms and conditions as her current contract, and/or as authorized by the Commission budget for each fiscal year.

Ben Rupert

Reviewed for Legal Sufficiency by Benjamin E. Rupert, Esq.

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of Resolution No. 24-22 adopted by The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission on motion of Commissioner'I gtcrf q, seconded by Commissioner Dckg{, with Commissioners Bailey, Doerner, Geraldo, Harris, Linden, Pedoeem, Shapiro and Washington voting in favor of the motion, with Commissioners Bartley and Hedrick being absent from the vote, at its meeting held on Wednesday, November 20, 2024, at the Department of Parks and Recreation Administration Building, Prince George's County, in Riverdale, Maryland.

William Spencer, Acting Executive Director