M-NCPPC RESOLUTION No. 23-24

November 15, 2023

MERIT SYSTEM BOARD CHAIR REAPPOINTMENT - TANYA UPTHEGROVE-COLEMAN

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland ("Land Use Article") and the Merit System Rules and Regulations, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (the "Commission") shall have the authority, obligation and responsibility to appoint a Merit System Board to oversee the Merit System;

WHEREAS, on December 1, 2008 the Commission appointed Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Member of the Merit System Board for a term of three years effective December 1, 2008 through December 1, 2011;

WHEREAS, on December 1, 2011 the Commission re-appointed Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Member of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2011 through December 1, 2015;

WHEREAS, on December 1, 2015 the Commission re-appointed Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Member of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2015 through December 1, 2019;

WHEREAS, on July 17, 2019 the Commission appointed Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Chairman of the Merit System Board beginning July 28, 2019 through December 1, 2019;

WHEREAS, on November 20, 2019 the Commission appointed Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman, Chairman of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2019 through December 1, 2023;

WHEREAS, Ms. Upthegrove-Coleman has performed the duties of Chairman of the Merit System Board faithfully, and continues to meet the requirements in Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article for membership on the Merit System Board, including substantial knowledge and experience in personnel matters; and,

WHEREAS, Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article allows for the reappointment of Merit System Board Members, including the Chairman, at the pleasure of the Commission for a term of four years.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Commission hereby reappoints Ms. Tanya Upthegrove-Coleman as Chairman of the Merit System Board for a four-year term commencing on December 1, 2023 to December 1, 2027; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Ms. Upthegrove-Coleman's appointment to the Merit System Board shall be pursuant to the same terms and conditions as her current contract, and/or as authorized by the Commission budget for each fiscal year.

Ben Rupert

Reviewed for Legal Sufficiency by Benjamin E. Rupert, Esq.

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of Resolution 23-24 adopted by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission on motion of Commissioner Bailey, seconded by Commissioner Geraldo, with Commissioners Dckrg{.'Dctvrg{.'Doerner.'I gtcrf q. Harris, Pedoeem'cpf Shapirq'voting in favor of the motion, and Commissioners Hedrick.'Nlpf gp'cpf'' Y cuj kpi vqp being absent for the vote, at its regular meeting held on P qxember 37, 2023, virtually and in person at the Y j gcvqp'J gcf s wctvgtu'Dvkrf kpi "Auditorium in Y j gcvqp, Maryland.

Asuntha Chiang-Smith

Executive Director