## THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

6611 Kenilworth Avenue • Riverdale, Maryland 20737

M-NCPPC RESOLUTION No. 21-17

July 21, 2021

## MERIT SYSTEM BOARD REAPPOINTMENT - CAROLYN SCRIBER

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland ("Land Use Article") and the Merit System Rules and Regulations, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (the "Commission") shall have the authority, obligation and responsibility to appoint a Merit System Board to oversee the Merit System;

WHEREAS, on July 28, 2019 the Commission appointed Ms. Carolyn Scriber, Member of the Merit System Board, to fulfill the remaining term of the vacancy created by Mr. Steven Cohen's retirement;

WHEREAS, Ms. Scriber has discharged the duties as Member of the Merit System Board faithfully, and continues to meet the requirements in Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article for membership on the Merit System Board, including substantial knowledge and experience in personnel matters; and,

WHEREAS, Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article allows for the reappointment of Merit System Board Members for a four-year term, at the pleasure of the Commission.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Commission hereby ratifies and memorializes the reappointment of Ms. Carolyn Scriber as a Member of the Merit System Board for a term ending December 1, 2024. This term reflects a four-year contract period and fulfillment of Mr. Cohen's former position; and,

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Ms. Scriber's appointment to the Merit System Board shall be pursuant to the same terms and conditions as her current contract, and/or as authorized by the Commission budget for each fiscal year.

APPROVED FOR LEGAL SUFFICIENCY:

/s/Tracey Harvin

M-NCPPC Legal Department

Date: June 24, 2021

## **CERTIFICATION**

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of Resolution No. 21-17 adopted by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission on motion of Commissioner Geraldo, seconded by Commissioner Bailey, with Chair Hewlett, Commissioners Bailey, Doerner, Fani-Gonzalez, Geraldo, Patterson, Verma and Washington voting in favor of the motion, and Vice-Chair Anderson and Commissioner Cichy being absent for the vote at its regular meeting held on Wednesday, July 21, 2021 via video-conference, and broadcast by the Department of Parks and Recreation, Prince George's County.

Asuntha Chiang-Smith Executive Director