

M-NCPPC Resolution No. 19-06

## Fiscal Year 2020 Wage Reopener Agreement for MCGEO Bargaining Unit Members (Merit Increase, Cost of Living Adjustment, Longevity Increments, and Limited Paid Time Off)

WHEREAS, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission ("Commission") submitted its proposed Fiscal Year 2020 operating and capital budget to the Montgomery and Prince George's County Councils in compliance with §18-105 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland;

WHEREAS, on May 9, 2019, the joint County Councils reviewed and approved the Bi-County budget items allocable to both counties and authorized compensation and benefits adjustments within the total dollars proposed by the Commission;

WHEREAS, §16-301, et seq., of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland requires the Commission to engage in collective bargaining for certain employees and under specified circumstances;

WHEREAS, eligible Commission employees are organized into the Service/Labor, Trades and Office Bargaining Units and have elected the Municipal and County Government Employees Organization/United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Local 1994 ("MCGEO") to be their exclusive representative for the purpose of collective bargaining with the Commission;

WHEREAS, MCGEO has a Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Commission, adopted by Resolution 18-08 on April 10, 2018, Approval of the Collective Bargaining Agreement for Service/Labor, Office and Trade Units. This Agreement, which is effective July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2021 includes a requirement to participate in a reopener for certain adjustments to Fiscal Year 2020 compensation for its represented employees. and authorizes the Executive Director to take actions to effectuate its decision to approve and ratify the Agreement which includes revising the pay schedule.

WHEREAS, the Commission authorized the Executive Director to lead negotiations and take actions to effectuate its decision to approve and ratify the Agreement.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Commission hereby adopts Fiscal Year 2020 compensation adjustments for MCGEO members as follows:

- 1) Up to a 3.5% anniversary (Merit) pay increment for eligible employees effective the beginning of the pay period in which the assigned anniversary date occurs; and
- 2) 1.5% Cost of Living Adjustment ("COLA") effective the first full pay period after July 1, 2019; and
- 3) Modification of the current Longevity eligibility period from 20 years to 17 years (beginning of year 18) and increase of the Longevity from 3.0% to 3.25%. All other eligibility terms for the longevity remain as set forth in the Collective Bargaining Agreement; and
- 4) 24 hours of Paid Time Off Leave. This leave shall be used consistent with the agency's standard leave approval policies, must be used during the twelve months of Fiscal Year 2020, and cannot be accrued for future years.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that effective on the first day of the first pay period following July 1, 2019, the MCGEO Bargaining Unit Pay Schedules shall be revised to reflect the increase in compensation due to the COLA; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that upon the effectiveness of the changes all previous versions of the pay schedule shall be rescinded; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Commission does hereby authorize the Executive Director to take action as may be necessary to implement this Resolution.

ADDROVED AS TO LEGAL SUFFICIENCY

M-NCPRC Legal Department

man 6/12

CERTIFICATION

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of Resolution No. 19-06 adopted by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission on motion of Commissioner Dreyfuss, seconded by Commissioner Doerner, with Chair Hewlett, Vice-Chair Anderson, Commissioners Bailey, Cichy, Doerner and Dreyfuss voting in favor of the motion, with Commissioners Fani-Gonzalez, Geraldo, Patterson and Washington being absent from the meeting held on Wednesday, June 19, 2019 at the Montgomery Regional Office Auditorium in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Anju A. Bennett

**Acting Executive Director**