

M-NCPPC RESOLUTION No. 16-25 October 19, 2016

MERIT SYSTEM BOARD CHAIRMAN REAPPOINTMENT – STEVEN R. COHEN

WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland ("Land Use Article") and the Merit System Rules and Regulations, the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (the "Commission") shall have the authority, obligation and responsibility to appoint a Merit System Board to oversee the Merit System;

WHEREAS, on November 19, 2008 the Commission appointed Mr. Steven R. Cohen, Chairman of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2008 through December 1, 2012;

WHEREAS, on December 1, 2012 the Commission re-appointed Mr. Steven R. Cohen, Chairman of the Merit System Board for a term of four years effective December 1, 2012 through December 1, 2016;

WHEREAS, Mr. Cohen has discharged the duties of Chairman of the Merit System Board faithfully, and continues to meet the requirements in Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article for membership on the Merit System Board, including substantial knowledge and experience in personnel matters; and,

WHEREAS, Section 16-103 of the Land Use Article allows for the reappointment of Merit System Board Members, including the Chairman, at the pleasure of the Commission for a term of four years.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Commission hereby ratifies and memorializes the reappointment of Mr. Steven R. Cohen as Chairman of the Merit System Board for an additional four year term commencing on December 1, 2016 to December 1, 2020; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Mr. Cohen's appointment to the Merit System Board shall be pursuant to the same terms and conditions as his current contract, and/or as authorized by the Commission budget for each fiscal year.

CERTIFICATION

APPROVED AS TO LEGAL SUFFICIENCY 2014

This is to certify that the foregoing is a true and correct copy of Resolution No. 16-25, adopted by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission on motion of Commissioner Hewlett, seconded by Commissioner Bailey, with Commissioners Anderson, Cichy, Dreyfuss, Geraldo, Washington, and Wells-Harley, voting in favor of the motion, and Commissioner Fani-Gonzalez being absent from the meeting held on October 19, 2016, in the Montgomery Regional Office in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Patricia Colihan Barney, Executive Director